nick vujicic

May 1, 2011

awesome aussies

My Dad frequently said to us kids “I thought I was poor because I had no shoes, until I met a man who had no feet”. It was his way of telling us that there is always someone else doing it tougher.

Elizabeth over at Mirth and Motivation has written a lovely post about a great Aussie bloke named Nick Vujicic. Check it out here http://eof737.wordpress.com/2011/04/30/life-without-limits-inspiration-for-a-ridiculously-good-life-a-review/

Nick was recently interviewed on a television show called In Gordon Street Tonight by Adam Hills, another fabulous Aussie. Check out the interview here…

, , ,

About hakea

groupworker, parent educator, therapist, mother of three boys.

View all posts by hakea

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

10 Comments on “nick vujicic”

  1. eof737 Says:

    Thanks for the link up and for sharing the video. I enjoyed reading his autobiography and would recommend it. He is so positive that it is hard to not want to do more, be better and be grateful. 🙂
    Happy Sunday!
    Eliz

    Reply

    • hakea Says:

      I’d actually forgotten about the interview until I read your post. Thank you for reminding me. You’ve inspired me to do an ‘inspiring aussies’ series of posts. We tend not to revere our heroes over here – don’t want them getting a big head now.

      Nick has that larrikin character that Aussies are known for.

      Reply

  2. InsideJourneys Says:

    Hey Narelle,
    Thanks for introducing me Mr. Vujicic. I didn’t know who he is or that he has no limbs and thought at first that he was a magician playing a trick. I kept wondering how he was able to keep his frame concealed so carefully, then I realized he wasn’t playing a trick.

    But it wasn’t his limbs that kept me interested in watching, it was his presence. His face was engaging, his message timely. It has special resonance right now as I continue the excavation of my authentic self.

    I can always depend on you to share the good stuff,
    Marcia

    Reply

    • hakea Says:

      Hi Marcia

      Thanks go to Eliz at Mirth and Motivation. She has a lovely blog, full of inspiring quotes and beautiful photos. Much time, effort, and dedication goes into her blog and much beauty is the result. I was going to recommend her blog to you as she shares her photos and anecdotes from her travels, and she posts daily, but I see you’ve already visited.

      A life without limbs. That’s really doing it tough. As Adam Hills said at the end of the interview “you should see how this guy gets out of bed”.

      Excavation of authentic self sounds most excellent. I’m starting an e-course today called the Art of Noticing by Rachelle Mee Chapman. I’ll let you know how it goes.

      Reply

      • InsideJourneys Says:

        Hi Narelle,
        Thanks for doing this post. Learning about Nick really humbled me. I try not to complain and whenever I hear myself beginning to do so, I stop. What do I have to complain about? I’ve got all my limbs, I’m healthy, my life is good, very good.

        The whole excavating thing started this year. I’m re-examining my life and seeing where I can be better. I’m in a new phase and want the next years the best years of my life, where I do work that matters, makes a difference (not just to me, i.e., I guess a paycheck) and gives me pleasure.

        I want to hear more about the Art of Noticing. I checked out her link but the latest session is closed. I’ve signed up for the next one. Thanks, Narelle! I know I can depend on you for the good stuff!!!
        Keep me posted on how it goes.

        Thanks again,
        Marcia

      • hakea Says:

        Hi Marcia

        There was another ecourse that I wanted to do but it was a bit too expensive for this time around. It was
        ‘the art of living cheerfully’ http://www.persistingstars.com/e-courses/

        You are a lovely blogging buddy.

  3. InsideJourneys Says:

    Hello Narelle,

    Just wanted to let you know I’ve nominated you for a Virtual Blogger Award. http://insidejourneys.com/2011/05/02/woohoo-im-versatile-blogger-thanks-judith/

    Congratulations!
    Marcia

    Reply

  4. Team Oyeniyi Says:

    Just thought I’d drop by and say “Hi”. Congratulations on the Award from Marcia.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

