how quickly they grow

November 10, 2012

parenting

How quickly they grow.

In one of the parent groups I facilitated this year, a dad was talking about how proud he was of his 10 year-old son. I can’t remember the specifics but the boy had really thought something through. Having a 10 year-old son myself, I reflected that when your child is 10 you start to get a glimpse of the man that he will become.

This week I read something written by a mother of a 10 year-old daughter “your face now holds the baby you were and the young woman you are rapidly becoming”.

It’s true, every day I look at my son’s face and wonder how he grew so quickly from that truly happy and adventurous baby into this physically strong and caring person.

Sometimes this 10 year-old of mine needs guidance about which kids to follow and those that are leading him into not so good places. Sometimes I just have to say “sorry mate, you can’t go to that boy’s house because he is not one of your true friends, you are not strong enough yet to say no if he suggests you do something that you really shouldn’t”.

But mostly, every day I see how much more capable he is becoming.

.

Related Articles

10 things I want my daughter to know before she’s 10

5 steps to resisting peer pressure

, , , , , , ,

About hakea

groupworker, parent educator, therapist, mother of three boys.

View all posts by hakea

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

