leaving it to dad

March 10, 2013

family life

This week, I have not been home very much.

I’ve been attending a 10 day intensive workshop (Circle of Security) facilitated by Dr Bert Powell from the USA.

I’ve been up at 5am, out the door by 6:30am, weekdays and Saturdays. Home at 7:30pm or later.

And the care of the children has fallen to their awesome Dad who feels that the best way to iron out the wrinkles of their day is by putting them in front of the TV to watch Total Wipeout, and fill their bellies with toast and Nutella. This isn’t my way, but life is richer for diversity and difference. I am grateful for having such a supportive partner who knows how important my work is to me and can step in when I am absent.

The workshop is being held at Mary Mackillop Place in North Sydney. Mary MacKillop is Australia’s first and only Saint. She was a rebel and a pioneer. She worked tirelessly for the welfare and education of children. Mary MacKillop Place is a sanctuary. Each day I have sat in the gardens, in her home, or the chapel, and been held in Saint Mary’s energy and loving kindness. I am grateful for her example. She lived such a simple life of service, and she knew what mattered – connection, kindness, and care.

About hakea

groupworker, parent educator, therapist, mother of three boys.

View all posts by hakea

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “leaving it to dad”

  1. hazelmwheeler Says:

    Ah, I love this line: “life is richer for diversity and difference”. Isn’t that the truth!
    Your workshop sounds rich and refreshing. Saint Mary must be smiling on you.:)

    Reply

    • hakea Says:

      Hi Marcia and Hazel

      My husband and I do things so differently at times, it’s nice for the kids to reflect on how things can be approached from a different angle.

      Reply

  2. InsideJourneys (@InsideJourneys) Says:

    Hahaha, that’s funny but such a guy thing, isn’t it?
    That’s a good way of looking at it, though – diversity and difference.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

