what, if, and favourite?

December 28, 2013

family life

I borrowed these questions from phrogmom who borrowed them from someone else. It’s not something I indulge in very often but I found it interesting to read phrogmom’s answers and then think about my own…

1. What time did you get up this morning?

6am. My body clock is set to wake up at 5am and I pretend to sleep in until 6am.

2. How do you like your steak?

Cooked! I have an aversion to blood.

3. What was the last film you saw at the cinema?

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters. My kids and I love Percy Jackson. All those references to Greek mythology – wonderful. Looking forward to seeing the new Hobbit movie.

4. What is your favorite TV show?

Elementary.  A bit of intrigue with a quirky, intelligent male character, and a quietly assertive, intelligent female character.

I love Dr Who, but I don’t really understand it.

5. If you could live anywhere in the world where would it be?

I can’t complain about where I am now – the Blue Mountains. It is beautiful.

6. What did you have for breakfast?

A smoothie made with protein powder (Teresa Cutter), coconut milk, cinnamon, berries, almond meal, flaxmeal, banana, baby spinach leaves, Tasmanian leatherwood honey.

7. What is your favorite food?

Roast chicken and baked potatoes for comfort food. But if I could afford a live-in cook, he or she would be Thai or Vietnamese.

8. Foods you dislike?

It’s not so much a matter of what I dislike, it’s what dislikes me. I am severely intolerant to all dairy food and yeast now. I am intolerant to sugar and caffeine. I have been severely intolerant to the gluten in oats for a few years now, but it has now expanded to wheat. Still on the fence with rice.

We were reading last night that a tick bite can make you intolerant to red meat. I can’t afford to be intolerant to anything else. We are planning to go out  into the bush more next year, and a good quality insect repellent is on the shopping list.

9. Favorite place to eat?

A Vietnamese restaurant in Parramatta. Oh so yum!

10. Favorite dressing?

Lemon juice. My yeast intolerance includes vinegar.

11. What kind of vehicle do you drive?

Isuzu 4WD dual cab ute. Isuzu’s motto is “spirit of truck”.

12. What are your favorite clothes?

Comfy but flattering. I have lost 13 kilos in the past six months but that is a whole other story.

My favourite clothes vendor used to be Colorado but they closed down a few years ago. Now it is ZhenNymph on Etsy.

13. Where would you visit if you had the chance?

The wilderness areas of the USA, the villages in Italy and France, maybe New Zealand. Definitely Uluru, the heart of Australia.

14. Cup 1/2 empty or 1/2 full?

I delicately balance both.

15. Where would you want to retire?

Where the mountains meet the sea.

Although there is a place we pass out on the road we travel to get our produce. It has a stunning view of the Blue Mountains. I suspect it is the place where the Aboriginal people were able to safely cross the Nepean River to walk into the mountains. I say to my boys that they can buy me a little house out there when I’m old.

16. Favorite time of day?

During school holidays – the early morning when the boys are asleep. I love that they can sleep so well now as they weren’t such good sleepers as babies.

During school terms – getting home with the boys, and unwinding over afternoon tea.

I take ten minutes out of an evening to journal, draw, or write lists of things I need to remember – I call this my ‘mental health time’

17. Where were you born?

In a town named after George Banks, the botanist who travelled with Captain James Cook. Captain James Cook was credited with being the first whitefella to discover Australia, but we all now know that the Dutch had visited many years before but they didn’t like the look of the place.

18. What is your favorite sport to watch?

The Tour de France – for the scenery. I used to be a racing cyclist.

19. What is your favorite fragrance?

lavender, vanilla, cinnamon, white musk

20. What is your favorite face cream?

Plain and simple, nothing fancy – Dermaveen.

21. Favorite baby/kids products?

My two younger boys are getting a lot of play value out of their Lego at the moment. They are on a Star Wars bender again. It’s everything Star Wars at the moment. The youngest bloke makes some remarkably accurate Star Wars sound effects.

My eldest boy is obsessed with everything Dr Who. He asked for a fez and bow tie for Christmas. Unfortunately he asked for them a few days before Christmas, and they are still on their way from Turkey. We loved Matt Smith as Doctor Who. Peter Capaldi is going to be the regenerated Doctor Who. Will we cope with the transition?

22. People watcher?

Most definitely. That’s what I do for work.

23. Are you a morning or night person?

Both, but I can’t stay up past 10pm anymore.

24. Do you have any pets?

Three dogs – fox terrier, beagalier, pug

25. Any new and exciting news you’d like to share?

Not really. Very much looking forward to saying goodbye to 2013, it’s been a challenging year in many ways. 2014 has the promise of new perspective, and a new path in my parenting journey as the eldest goes to high school.

26. What did you want to be when you were little?

A teacher or a doctor. If I had my time over again I would become a clinical psychologist.

27. What is your favorite memory?

Seeing the end of a rainbow.

28. Are you a cat or dog person?

Dog. I’m allergic to cats.

29. Are you married?

Not really.

30. Always wear your seat belt?

It’s the law.

31. Been in a car accident?

Been in a few scrapes on motorcycles. Backed into a pole, a fence, and a concrete block in the car on separate occasions.

32. Any pet peeves?

Chores that make me grumble on a daily basis – mountains of washing-up and laundry.

33. Favorite pizza toppings?

I can’t eat pizza. I can eat the olives off the top.

34. Favorite flower?

Hakea.

35. Favorite ice cream?

I can’t eat ice cream.

36. Favorite fast food restaurant?

We don’t eat fast food. Sometimes we get fish and chips, and I get some calamari.

37. How many times did you fail your driver’s test?

I got my motorcycle and car licence first go, but I had to do my light bus test twice.

38. From whom did you get your last email?

Wild Creative Heart Community

39. Which store would you choose to max out your credit card?

Right now, I have everything I need.

Maybe a book store, because I really want to buy and read everything written by Donald Winnicott.

40. Do anything spontaneous lately?

Nothing significant. Little things like go for a walk or jog, play a game with the kids, talk to the dogs.

41. Like your job?

Oh Yeah!

42. Broccoli?

Only from the farmer’s market. Supermarket broccoli stinks!

43. What was your favorite vacation?

I rode my motorcycle around the State of Victoria when I was younger. I was on my own and it was a big adventure.

44. Last person you went out to dinner with?

The local Chinese with husband, kids, and in-laws.

45. What are you listening to right now?

Silence.

46. What is your favorite color?

The colour of wood, any wood. I cringe at the sight of painted wood.

47. How many tattoos do you have?

Zero. I was thinking of getting a Celtic design on my arm when I was younger. I’m glad I didn’t.

48. Coffee drinker?

I wish. I love coffee, but it doesn’t love me.

About hakea

groupworker, parent educator, therapist, mother of three boys.

View all posts by hakea

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

